
 
 
 

 

Thank you for partnering 
with the State Treasurer’s Office 

to return unclaimed funds 
to South Carolinians. 

 
 

 

GUIDE TO REPORTING 
 

 
 

www.treasurer.sc.gov 
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Who needs to report? 
All entities holding property subject to the South Carolina 
Uniform Unclaimed Property Act that belongs to an 
individual or business with a last known address in South 
Carolina must file a report with the South Carolina State 
Treasurer’s Office Unclaimed Property Program. 

What if I have never filed a holder report? 
A holder that has not previously reported may voluntarily 
comply  with South Carolina unclaimed property statutes 
by reporting any past-due property without penalty. 
Please contact our office to request a Voluntary Disclosure 
Agreement. 

Your organizaton may be holding unclaimed property 
that should be reported to the State of South Carolina. 
This short guide will help you understand what types of 
abandoned assets qualify as unclaimed property and 
how to correctly report them to the South Carolina 
State Treasurer’s Office. 

Unclaimed property consists of intangible personal 
property, including general ledger and securities-related 
property, for which there has been no owner-initiated 
activity for a specified period of time, usually five years. 

When is the report due? 
Holder reports must be submitted and payments must be 
transmitted or postmarked by November 1 each year. 

How do I determine what to report? 
Review your records each year to determine if you have any 
property, as of June 30, that is subject to reporting. 

Practice due diligence by attempting to locate the owners 
of any unclaimed property you are holding. For amounts 
of $50 or more, written notification must be made no more 
than 120 days before the report is filed. A sample letter is 
available at www.treasurer.sc.gov. 

How do I submit the report? 
Submit reports electronically (via email, UPExchange, 
or UPExpress) in the National Association of Unclaimed 
Property Administrators (NAUPA) prescribed format. 
UPExchange, a free holder reporting software, is available 
on our website to assist in creating a NAUPA-formatted file. 
To protect the personal information of property owners, 
files must be encrypted or password protected. 

Email 
Please email the encrypted or password-protected file, 
coversheet, and a remittance information form to 
upreports@sto.sc.gov. For password-protected files, 
please send the password in a separate email. 

UPExchange or UPExpress 
You can submit a UPExchange file or any NAUPA-formatted 
file to the Unclaimed Property Program using UPExpress. 
Although not required, payment can also be remitted 
through UPExpress. 

How do I remit the payment? 
Payment can be made by check, ACH or bank wire. 
Instructions are available on the State Treasurer’s Office 
website. 

What if I don’t comply? 
The Unclaimed Property audit team routinely performs 
examinations, which focus on assisting holders with 
reporting unclaimed property and verifying compliance 
with the South Carolina Uniform Unclaimed Property Act. 
Holders that have never reported or have gaps in their 
reporting histories will be given priority when assigning 
compliance examinations. 

In accordance with Section 27-18-350 of the Unclaimed 
Property Act, interest and penalties may be assessed on 
unclaimed property not remitted as required by law. 

Where can I go for help? 
Unclaimed property representatives are available by 
telephone or email to help holders achieve compliance. 
For holders located in South Carolina, representatives are 
available for on-site consultation. 

of our website at: 

Unclaimed Property Program
PO Box 11778 

Unclaimed Property Program
Wade Hampton Building, Room 224 

1200 Senate Street 

unclaimed@sto.sc.gov
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