Report Unclaimed Property
REPORTS ARE DUE BY NOVEMBER 1st.
The State Treasurer’s Office is proud to partner with the business community to achieve our shared goal of returning unclaimed assets to their rightful owner.
With the support of our holder community, this year we increased the amount of properties paid by 27% and returned over $23 million to South Carolinians. With holder season fast approaching, we are looking forward to another record breaking year.
As always, if we can provide you with any assistance, our staff is here to help. Please don't hesitate to contact us. You can reach us by phone at (803) 737-4771 or by email at email@example.com.
If your organization is holding unclaimed property for individuals or businesses with a last known address in South Carolina, you must report this property to the State of South Carolina each year.
Unclaimed property consists of intangible personal property, including general ledger and securities-related property, for which there has been no owner-initiated activity for a specified period of time, usually five years.
Safe Deposit Boxes
With the exception of US Savings Bonds, South Carolina does not accept any other property located in an abandoned safe deposit box. For information on disposing of other contents located in a safe deposit box, click here.
Property type codes, owner type codes, and relationship codes are required.
Due Diligence Requirements
No more than one hundred twenty days before the holder files its report, the holder must send a written notice to the apparent owner stating that the holder is in possession of property which has been deemed abandoned and will be remitted to the state as unclaimed if the apparent owner does not reply. Due diligence notices need only be sent for accounts of $50 or more and do not need to be sent to those owners for whom the address on the holder’s records has been proven to be incorrect.
Due Diligence Letter
Property Reportable to Another State
South Carolina will accept incidental property (ten  or fewer properties, totaling $1,000.00 or less) reportable to another state only if allowed by the other state. Please refer to the NAUPA Reciprocity Matrix for state specific information.
Important: If you include unclaimed property reportable to other states in your South Carolina report, you must comply with the unclaimed property laws of the states last known address in reporting those items.
CREATING THE REPORT
South Carolina requires all holder reports to be submitted electronically in a NAUPA-formatted file.
There are several holder reporting software products on the market that can help you prepare your report in the correct format. If you are looking for a free option, you may choose to create your report using HRS Pro, a free reporting software offered by Xerox.
HRS Pro created a tutorial video to give guidance on using their new product. Once you have signed up and created your account, you can view the video from the ‘Start’ option in their menu.
FILING THE REPORT
For security reasons, South Carolina will not accept holder reports submitted on CDs, USB drives, or any other physical media. Any reports not submitted electronically will be returned and late filing fees may apply if the report is not submitted electronically by the November 1 deadline. Reports must be submitted in the NAUPA-format:
1. As an attachment to a secure email sent to firstname.lastname@example.org
2. By uploading the report via UPExpress (for reports prepared using HRS Pro or another reporting software)
3. By remitting through UPExchange (for reports prepared using UPExchange)
Be sure to include the Submission Confirmation Form with your report indicating how the property is being remitted.
Funds may be remitted by ACH, bank check or bank wire. Information on the various remittance methods can be found on the Remittance Information page.
All DTC eligible shares and Mutual Funds must be delivered to the Unclaimed Property Program’s brokerage account at Wells Fargo Advisors. All DRP accounts should be closed and whole shares forwarded via DTC. Fractional shares should be sold on an account by account basis and proceeds applied to each individual account when filing. Do not report or remit worthless shares. Detailed information for delivering securities can be found on our Remittance Information page.
If you have questions or need assistance filing and unclaimed property report, please call us at (803) 737-4771, or send an email to The South Carolina Unclaimed Property Program Staff.
The South Carolina Unclaimed Property Program mailing addresses can be found here.