## SOUTH CAROLINA STATE TREASURER'S OFFICE Request for Unclaimed Property Report

The South Carolina State Treasurer's Office (STO) generates an Unclaimed Property Report (Report) on an annual basis for the purpose of fulfilling requests under the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act (SCFOIA) for information about unclaimed property held by the STO. The Report includes properties held by the Agency for more than 24 months, and the description of the property is listed only as "over \$100," "under \$100," or "stock."

To obtain a copy of the most recent Report, the requestor must submit this completed form to the STO at the following address:

South Carolina State Treasurer's Office Attention: Andrea C. Sancho-Baker, FOIA Officer 1200 Senate Street, Suite 214 Wade Hampton Building Columbia, SC 29201

Please include a cashier's check or money order for \$10 USD made payable to the "South Carolina State Treasurer's Office" with this form, in accordance with the STO's fee schedule, which can be found at <u>https://treasurer.sc.gov/citizens/freedom-of-information-act/</u>.

In accordance with SCFOIA, the STO will respond to your request within 20 business days and will provide you with the report within 35 calendar days following our initial response to your request, provided STO has received this signed form and the accompanying payment by that date. The Report will be saved on a flash drive and mailed to you.

Please be advised of the following statutory provisions:

- S.C. Code § 30-2-50 of the Family Privacy Protection Act prohibits the use of personal information obtained from a state agency for "commercial solicitation." Commercial solicitation is statutorily defined as "contact by telephone, mail, or electronic mail for the purpose of selling or marketing a consumer product or service."
- S.C. Code § 27-18-360 prohibits the enforcement of agreements to pay compensation to recover or assist in the recovery of unclaimed property made within 24 months of the date the property is reported to the STO. After 24 months, S.C. Code § 27-18-360 prohibits a person from seeking or receiving, or contracting to receive, any fee or compensation for locating unclaimed property in excess of fifteen percent of the value of the property returned to the owner.

By signing below, I agree that I have been advised to carefully review and understand the above provisions and to consult my own legal counsel regarding any questions about these provisions.

Printed Name:	Signature:	
Date:		
Please send the flash drive to:		
Name:		Phone:
Email Address:		
Company Name (if applicable):		
Address:		
City:	State	Zip Code: