State Treasurer Curtis Loftis Announces 21 Statewide Winners of Future Scholar “Making Bank” Contest

Sample winning "Making Bank" entry

Sample winning "Making Bank" entry

As part of the April observance of Financial Literacy Month, State Treasurer Curtis Loftis announced that 21 elementary-age students will each receive a privately-funded $529 Future Scholar college savings grant as winners of the Future Scholar “Making Bank” Contest.

The statewide financial literacy contest encouraged students to use a piggy bank template to create artwork illustrating things they were excited to be saving their money for and highlighting their understanding of needs versus wants.

“It’s never too early to start talking with your children about creating good financial habits, and the ‘Making Bank’ contest was a fun way to help teachers and families explore these important topics with young children,” said Treasurer Loftis. “We loved seeing the children’s artwork and creativity. After conferring with our judges panel of SC Financial Literacy Master Teachers, we are pleased to award all of these students Future Scholar grants to help jump start their college savings.”

Approximately 2,100 students from 45 schools across the state registered to participate in local “Making Bank” contests, with each school naming first, second and third place winners who received Future Scholar prize packs. Teachers of the school winners also received Amazon gift cards, and the top school entry was then elevated to the statewide competition.

About Future Scholar
Future Scholar is South Carolina’s 529 College Savings Plan, administered by the State Treasurer’s Office. The plan has more than $5.6 billion in assets under management and is credited with helping more South Carolina families save for their loved ones’ future education than ever before. For more information, visit or follow @SCStateTreasurer on Facebook. No state funds are used to market Future Scholar or administer the Future Scholar “Making Bank” contest.

Statewide “Making Bank” Winners:

Winning Artwork # 1st Place Student Name: Student Grade: School Name: School District:
1 Luna Raine Powers 2nd Andrews Elementary School Georgetown
2 Eleanor "Ellie" Allen 2nd Buist Academy Charleston
3 Jordyn Pringle 1st Caughman Road Elementary School Richland 1
4 Luke Andrew Patterson 1st Cherokee Trail Elementary School Abbeville 60
5 Maizii Johnson K Dutch Fork Elementary School Lexington Richland 5
6 Markayla Gavin 2nd Elloree Elementary School Orangeburg
7 Heidi Peden 1st Fork Shoals Elementary School Greenville
8 Claire Curby 2nd Fort Mill Elementary School York 4
9 Carlee Bagwell 2nd Gallman Elementary School Newberry
10 Alexander Acevedo Garcia 1st Grove Elementary School Greenville
11 Anabella "Bella" Vargas 2nd Hilton Head Island Elementary School Beaufort
12 Caleb Esquivel-Olvera 2nd Hollywood Elementary School Saluda
13 Bradley “Brad”  Gonzalez Gomez 1st Hunley Park Elementary School Charleston
14 Genevieve Mozelle Salley 1st Lexington Elementary School Lexington 1
15 Cayden Cannon K McCrorey-Liston School of Technology Fairfield
16 Ethan Myoung 1st Nexton Elementary School Berkeley
17 Waylon Roberts 2nd North Central Elementary School Kershaw
18 Deena Ford 1st R.E. Davis College Preparatory Academy Sumter
19 Ava Paige Kidd 2nd River Trail Elementary School York 4
20 Sebastian "Palmer" Revis 1st Riverwalk Academy SC Charter School
21 Darya Denisenko 1st Gold Hill Elementary School York 4